All About Workflows


Workflows are powerful automations that can save your team countless hours and help ensure that none of your clients, communities, or referral sources are forgotten.

While our workflow-specific tutorials walk through the steps to create each type of workflow, there are a variety of common questions that come up when creating them. This doc covers those questions:



Who Do Workflow Emails Get Sent From?


  • Client's assigned user - If this option is selected then emails for this workflow will be sent from the clients assigned user. If a client is Unassigned then these emails will come from the email sender fallback selected.
  • Specific user - If this option is selected workflow emails will be sent from the selected user.  


Do Email Signatures Get Added to Workflow Emails?


Yes! When a Workflow email is sent, the sender's Default Signature will be added to the configured email body. You are able to preview you current email signature be selecting Preview Your Default Signature.

If you'd like to set up your default signature, please navigate here.


How Do I Cancel a Triggered Workflow?


As long as a Workflow has triggered but not yet run (due to the configured delay), you can cancel it. Follow the steps below to cancel a triggered Workflow:

  1. Navigate to the Client where the Workflow was triggered
  2. Scroll down to the Workflow automation section
  3. Find the triggered Workflow that has not yet run (indicated by the yellow clock icon)
  4. Click the Trashcan icon and confirm the cancellation

What Happens If I Make a Change That Would Impact a Triggered Workflow?


Note: Updates only occur when Workflows are scheduled but not yet complete.


Each Workflow has its own unique set of triggers, the same general rules apply when you make changes that would impact a triggered (but not yet completed) Workflow.

In this example, the Referral Workflow is set to trigger when a Referral Source is chosen; however, as updates are made, so are the scheduled workflows:


  1. The initial Workflow is scheduled after the Referral Source is chosen.
  2. When a different Referral Source is chosen, the initial Workflow is canceled and a new workflow email is scheduled.
  3. If the Referral Source is removed, the newly scheduled email workflow is also canceled.

What Happens to Triggered Workflows When I Update Workflow Settings?


Edits made to a workflow that already has workflows in progress will affect certain parts of those workflows, depending on the type of edit.

Workflow settings that have already been applied to in progress workflows will not change. This includes:

  • What triggers the workflow
  • The workflow delay length

For status-based workflows, clients who are already in the triggering status will not be automatically enrolled when that status is added to an existing workflow. Only clients who move into the triggering status after the workflow is published will trigger the workflow.

Some edits to workflows will apply to workflows that are in progress once they trigger. This includes:

  • Email body and subject edits
  • Who the email is sent from
  • Who the email is sent to

Multiple Step Workflows



Setting Up Multiple Steps for a Single Workflow


If you'd like your workflow to have more than one step, you can add multiple steps to a single workflow by selecting + Add Action. This can be used in a variety of ways. For example, if you'd like to reach out to a recently moved-in client with an email, followed by a text, and then a final email, you can do this all within one workflow!


Example Workflow with Multiple Steps


Your workflow could look something like this.


Workflow Length Calculation


The total workflow length calculation is shown starting on the second step of your workflow. This can help you keep track of exactly when each step will take place.


This workflow up to this step takes place over 11 days:

  1. One additional day is included in this calculation because the workflow does not count the day it is triggered as a day toward the delay set for the first step.
  2. The first step, an email with a 7 day delay.
  3. The second step, a text with a 3 day delay.
  4. For a total of 11 days.

Rearranging Your Workflow Steps


You can rearrange your workflow steps by selecting the up or down arrow on the step you'd like to move.

Deleting a Workflow Step


Deleting a step from your workflow can be done by selecting the trash can icon.


Have more questions? Feel free to reach out to us at support@seniorplace.com!

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us